a memory at my fingertips

A few days ago I heard a song on the radio that I hadn’t heard or thought of in years: Peter Gabriel’s “Solsbury Hill.”  By the time I got home, I wanted to hear it and really listen to it – to remember what it was about – and maybe see it performed. You know what I did. Yep, I found it on YouTube. I’m it playing it now in the background as I write. (Good grief, the things pop stars wore in the late 70s and into the 80s.) The next step for me is to purchase and download the tune for my mp3 player, because it was like rediscovering a forgotten gem among my jewelry. And just like that, it’s accessible to me again; and this time I don’t have to wait for it to make it into the radio station’s rotation.

Music, lectureswritten workseducational and public service programs, entertainment, and more are now at the fingertips of those who have access to the networks that provide them (and that access grows every day). So are bogus articles, potential copyright infringement, and somebody’s imagination masquerading as fact (there are plenty of those; I won’t link to any to give them wider circulation). What’s my point? Well, it’s Friday Fluff, so just enjoy. But maybe also you can think about your own collection of trusted sources on the Web, and how to help your students think about theirs. The Web didn’t invent entertainment or information dissemination. It didn’t invent poor source material or copyright infringement. But, boy-oh-boy, does it ever make it accessible. How does the person who posted the “Solsbury Hill” video get away with sharing an original recording mashed up with video of multiple concerts? Official fan club prez with record label blessing? Maybe. Or maybe, as in a number of cases, it’s not that at all, but the artist or label or agent or whomever decides it’s worth the attention. Hey, I’m going to pay for it; maybe that’s reason enough. Food for thought. Find a dry spot and enjoy your weekend.

One Response

  1. […] patsycat Made an interesting post today on technology180.wordpress.comRead this summary: […]

Leave a Reply

