Blogging makes history

I am one of those people who loves to write. I mean, I love it. I often communicate better in writing than I do verbally. So, it should come as no surprise that I really dig blogs and the idea of blogging. If blogs had been around when I was teaching high school English and journalism, I would have incorporated them into coursework in some way.

When I stumbled across this CNN article about a blog featuring real letters from a WWI soldier, my mind began to spin with educational possibilities (use the blog for supplementary reading material, as an example of how to update the old interview-your-grandma-about-the-Depression assignment, as an example of an alternative way to develop original research on a related topic, etc.). The soldier’s descendant is posting WWI letters on a blog using the same dates as the original letters. The readers do not know whether the dispatches will end before the war does. What a great idea.

One Response

  1. Also visit Soldier’s Mail: Letters Home from a New England Soldier 1916-1919 at http://worldwar1letters.wordpress.com. This has become a valuable digital collection for a virtual museum as well as a high-school level supplemental educational resource. It not only features letters home from the front, but also letters from home which are much more rare and give a real glimpse into daily life during the early 20th Century.

Leave a Reply

