RSS and Wikis

This week in Blue 2.0, we learned about wiki and RSS tools (see my earlier entry for an explanation of these assignments). The wiki (set up at pbwiki) process was pretty interesting, and I finally got one up and running. It wasn’t too difficult, but it did take some time to figure out how to do exactly what I wanted to do (linking pages and such). I had an idea to begin a wiki that would allow my colleagues in TASC and I to develop how-to resources for some of our technology tools. Eventually, that would probably be a good idea. For the purposes of this assignment, however, I went with something easier: a place where others can help me learn about Lexington, since I’m new to town. To try out editing a wiki, go to
http://newtolex.pbwiki.com/
and to edit, click on login and enter the edit key, which is
makeitso

I can definitely see potential uses for wikis. The Blue 2.0 examples of wikis were all helpful, and I particularly liked Librarian Sarah’s Wiki because I could apply the idea to my own presentations development. I can also see how wikis could allow project collaborations to grow, or allow students to compile information being studied over time in a course. 

On the RSS side, although I know what RSS feeds are, and I’ve subscribed to them in the past, it was helpful to have an assignment that forced me to walk through many different possibilities for feeds. If you’d like to try it, here’s the tutorial (it’s a little out of date with Bloglines, but you can probably follow at least most of it). I’m a news junkie, so my favorite feeds come from news sites, such as CNN. I also subscribe to the blog I started for my former employer, CET, but what I’d really like to do is subscribe to feeds of new videos. That’s not available yet though on their site. I also subscribe to a really cool blog called WW1: Experiences of an English Soldier, which posts original letters from a soldier exactly 90 years after they were written. Readers do not know what will happen … you simply follow along as his family and friends would have during that time period. I hope we don’t get a telegram anytime soon. Oh, and of course, icanhascheezburger.com, because what would life be without stupid pet pix?

One Response

  1. Patsy, excellent idea for a wiki! And I’m glad you are a cheezburger fan, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

