shorpy historic photo archive

I know that some of you have heard me speak on (or read my blog posts about) the cool archives found on Flickr. But today I want to point you to The Shorpy Historic Photo Archive. Something draws me back there daily. I subscribe to the feed so that I see every new photo. Maybe it’s because I could swear I’ve seen some of the people and places … that Georgia Coca-Cola shack looks like buildings that you can still spot in the Kentucky countryside (if you know where to look). Maybe it’s the photos of the kids, like Shorpy, who worked the mines or sweat shops. Or maybe it’s just that you can click on each photo, view it in its original size, and find a trove of little treasures and hidden clues in each historic view. So, for today’s Friday Fluff, I urge you to take a 10-minute vacation, find a photo that pleases you, and examine it. You might get hooked.

delivery boy resting in Newport, Kentucky

Harry Swope: 1908 in Newport, Kentucky

Leave a Reply

